Its been a long time coming, i remember when i was 8 or 9, questioning myself about eating meat. Back then i said i wanted to be one but refusing meat lasted a couple weeks and thats about it but i still wondered why we do eat it. I didnt understand i needed to subsitute that protein for other protein and all the nutrienal info i needed to have before making the switch. Ive known a couple other vegatarians through out life, they all had their own reasons for giving up meat. As ive explained to other people my reasons are for health reasons as much as the treatment of those animals during their life and including how they are slaughtered. I dont think that eating meat is inheirently wrong. I think eating too much is not good for your body and i think abusing animals and torturing animals is wrong. I try not to judge others for not having the beliefs i do but i kniw everytime i see someone eating meat i wonder, does this individual know the pain and suffering that poor animal probably went through, just so you could eat it? The sad thing is most people dont look at eating an animal like thats what they are doing. They dont think im eating a dead cow they, think im eating food. There is a disconnect there. Your lack of empathy is very sad to me. I know you would not be eating that if you had to watch it die. No one wants to face the truth. That being said, i will eat a chicken if my dad has grown it. Why cause i not only know its never been in pain,sick, or in crowded living situations and i could watch it being slaughtered and know it was quick and painless. You have to understand. If you buy meat from a grocery store, even if its organic, this is not the case. If you dont believe me, please take a bit of your day and watch this movie.
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=d7cxmFugZMA
Yes its a bit graphic, but why dont you try and figure out why it bothers you to watch these things happening but some how you can eat it?

-Lora